...News is Here

A 27 member presidential inauguration committee set up


The government and the All Progressives Congress (APC) have set up a 27 member presidential inauguration committee to over the transition programme from the outgoing PDP government to the incoming APC government.

The chairman of the committee is the Secretary to the government of the federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim and the co-chair representing the APC is the former governor of Bayelsa state, Timpre Sylva. The president had earlier directed all ministries, departments and agencies to present their hand over notes to the secretary of the government of the federation. That is expected to have been done as they were expected to have done so by April 20. According Senator Anyim both parties have approved the transition committee and the inauguration committee. He said the inauguration committee is tom draw up the programme for the inauguration, organise the approved programme. He said that the committee is to arrange the invitations and accommodation for local and foreign dignitaries. He  also said that the committee is empowered to co-opt into sub committee any person that can help the committee achieve its goals. He added that the permanent secretary presidency in the office of the secretary to the government   of the federation will act as the secretary of the committee.

Members of the inauguration committee representing the government includes ; Chief of defence staff, Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh, IGP Solomon Arase,office of the adviser on national security Col.Bello Fadele(rtd), commander of the brigade of guards Brig. Gen. A.B. Omozoje and the following ministers;FCT Bala Mohammed,Water Resources Sarah Ochekpe,Aviation Osita Chidoka,Culture Edem Duke, Land Housing Akon Eyankenyi, Foreign Affairs Aminu Wali, Interior Abba Moro, Foreign Affairs state Austin Akubundu and Ibukun Odusote.

Members representing the in coming administration includes ; Pius Akinyelure, Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Sharon Ikeazor, Tony Anwuka, Kawu Baraje, John Shagaya, Bala Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Funtua, Binta Masi Garba, Babachir Lawal and Samson Osagie.

The programme of the new committee will be a week long activities. This will include:

Jumat service

Church service

Inaugural dinner

Gala night


Inauguration ceremony.