...News is Here

68candidates for National Assembly in Adamawa

jonthan silas zwingina
The Independent National Electoral Commission INEC has disclosed that  68 candidates which have been fielded by 11 political  parties will be contesting for National Assembly seats on 29 of this month in Adamawa state.

The list of candidates for the election made available by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Yola showed that 22 candidates including an Igbo man, Mr Aja Nwabueze of PPA will be contesting for the three Senatorial seats while 46 candidates will slug it out for the eight House of Representatives seats in the state.

Out of the 68 candidates of the National Assenbly election only nine were women.

Five of the women- Binta Garba of APC, Philomina Saleh of LP, Pagiel Godsdeligth of PPN, Maryam Sani of LP and Aishatu Ahmed of PDM are contesting for Senate while the remaining four- Kwetishe Danladi of PPN, Esther Hassan of LP,  Wilbina Jackson of PDP and Talatu Yohanna APC are going for House of Representatives.

The eleven political parties fielding candidates for the National Assembly election are Alliance for Democracy (AD), All Progressives Congress (APC), Citizens Popular Party (CPP), Labour Party ( LP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The remaining are Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM), Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPA), Social Democratic Party (SDP), People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN), Independent Democrats (ID) and KOWA Party (KP).